Ghosting
Skyscape

description to come

Available from:
Amazon
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble

Cover to Cover Bookstore
3560 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43214
614-263-1624

Reviews

“Seven teens, a gun, and a harmless prank turned tragedy. We see these young faces illuminated by their cell phones and hear their voices calling out from the darkness in a book that is ultimately both horrifying and healing. Edith Pattou writes with a poet’s ear attuned to the rhythm of the teenage heart. A stunning achievement.”
-- Debby Dahl Edwardson,
author of the National Book Award finalist,
My Name is Not Easy

“I flew through Ghosting in one sitting, It is in a word, “unputdownable.” Nonstop action, tension and suspense fill the first half of the book; heartfelt emotion, regret and healing fill the second. Reader, power down all your devices and find a comfortable chair because once you start reading Ghosting you won’t be able to stop!”
-- Lesléa Newman,
author of October Morning: A Song for Matthew Shepard

“Filled with authentic detail and believable teenage voices, Ghosting is a gripping account of an all-too-plausible tragedy in a country where there are more guns than people. Pattou’s keen eye for character and ear for convincing dialogue will make this an important and accessible lesson about redemption and forgiveness for young adult readers.”
-- Todd Strasser,
author of Fallout

Ghosting is timely and compelling, filled with complex and interesting characters. It will hold you in your seat from the first line to the last.”
-- Marion Dane Bauer,
author of the Newbery Honor Book, On My Honor




East
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Rose has always felt out of place in her family, a wanderer in a bunch of homebodies. So when an enormous white bear mysteriously shows up and asks her to come away with him — in exchange for health and prosperity for her ailing family — she readily agrees. The bear takes Rose to a distant castle, where each night she is confronted with a mystery. In solving that mystery, she loses her heart, discovers her purpose, and realizes her travels have only just begun.

As familiar and moving as Beauty and the Beast and yet as fresh and original as only the best fantasy can be, East is a novel retelling of the classic tale "East of the Sun, West of the Moon," a sweeping romantic epic in the tradition of Robin McKinley and Gail Carson Levine.

Available from
Amazon
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble

Cover to Cover Bookstore
3560 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43214
614-263-1624

Reviews

“The author of Hero's Song (1991) and Fire Arrow (1998) weaves the essentials of the children's fairy tale "East o' the Sun and West o' the Moon" into a rich tapestry that will resonate with readers of books such as Robin McKinley's renderings of Beauty and the Beast….What ensues is the stuff of epic tale telling, replete with high drama and compelling characterizations.”
--Booklist (starred review)

“Pattou's writing pitches readers gracefully between myth and fantasy, inviting those unaccustomed to either genre to explore the frozen world of questing that she has so vividly created.”
--School Library Journal
(starred review)

“Rather than leave Rose's fate in someone else's hands, though, Pattou gives her heroine the strength and courage of a modern woman. This girl can kick butt…. this fantasy adventure deserves kudos for creating memorable characters, and soaring beyond the traditional fairy tale.”
--Children’s Literature

“…East will enchant any and all who venture within its pages. It is a tale for the Ages, and for all ages. Highly recommended.”
--Amazon

Awards/Honors

2008 Rebecca Caudill Young Reader’s Book Award Nominee

2007 Swansea, Wales Bay Book Award Nominee

2006/2007 Florida Association for Media in Education Florida Teen Reads Award Nominee

2006 International Reading Association Young Reader’s Choice Award

2006 Pacific Northwest Library Association YRCA Nominee

2006 Nebraska’s Children’s Choice Golden Sower Award Honor Book, Young Adult category

2006 Edmonton, Canada Public Libraries Young Reader’s Choice Nominee

2005/2006 Ottakar’s Children’s Book Prize Short List – Great Britain

2005/2006 South Carolina Young Adult Book Award Nominee

2005 Chosen as one of the “100 Best of the Best Young Adult Books for the 21st Century” by Young Adult Library Association

2005 Georgia Peach Book Award Nominee

2004/2005 Children’s Literature Association of Utah Beehive Award Nominee

2004/2005 Pennsylvania Young Reader’s Choice Award Nominee

2004 Ohioana Book Award – Juvenile Literature

2004 American Library Association Notable Children’s Book

2004 Young Adult Library Association Top Ten Books for Young Adults

2004 Junior Library Guild Selection

2004 Michigan Library Association Thumbs Up! Honor Book

2004 School Library Journal Top Ten Young Adult Book

2004 New York Public Library Best Books for the Teen Age

2003 Independent Booksellers Book Sense 76



Mrs. Spitzer’s Garden
Illustrated by Tricia Tusa
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Mrs. Spitzer is a wise teacher who knows many things. She knows about gardens. She knows about children. She knows how similar they are. And how they will flourish if tended lovingly.

There are many remarkable teachers like Mrs. Spitzer in the world. (This) is a book to celebrate all that they do, year after year, to help our children grow and blossom.

Available from
Amazon
IndieBound
Barnes and Noble

Cover to Cover Bookstore
3560 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43214
614-263-1624

Reviews

"I love this book! Every teacher in the universe should have a copy."
--Mem Fox

 
"A very loving book, a tribute really, to the teachers of the world and beyond them to all people who nurture children."
--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

“Not only should this book delight youngsters, it should surely warm the heart of any teacher. Buy a copy for your favorite!”
–Children’s Literature

“This is my hands-down favorite book about teaching and school this year. It is a joyful celebration of one teacher’s love and dedication to her students.”
--The Tennessean

Awards/Honors

2007 New York Times Best Seller

2005 American Horticultural Society/Junior Master Gardener Growing Good Kids – Excellence in Children’s Literature Award

2003 Kentucky Bluegrass Award

2003 North Dakota Library Association Flicker Tale Nominee

2002 ABC Children’s Bookseller’s Choice Award

2001 Independent Booksellers Book Sense 76



Hero’s Song
(first volume of the Songs of Eirren)
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Collun is a gardener, not a fighter, but when his beloved sister, Nessa, disappears, he must do what no one else will: strap on a dagger and pursue her kidnappers.  But Nessa's disappearance is only one of many sinister events that engulf Collun, and soon he is battling an evil larger than he'd ever imagined, an evil that threatens to destroy everything he knows. All hope rests on Collun and his unlikely companions — an enigmatic wizard, an aspiring bard, and a feisty young archer on a mission of her own. Their quest leads them from one seemingly insurmountable danger to another, and ultimately to the lair of a giant white wurme whose slime is acid to the touch — a wurme that Collun must somehow kill if he is to rescue his sister and save his world.

Available from
Amazon
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble

Cover to Cover Bookstore
3560 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43214
614-263-1624

 

Reviews

"The author spins a dramatic tale, infused with Irish myth and folklore, that fantasy fans will relish."
--Booklist

"Nonstop adventure."
--The Book Report

"Action-packed . . . Well-crafted . . . Altogether satisfying."
--The Bulletin

Awards/Honors

1992 Independent Reader’s Young Adult Choice

Fire Arrow
(book two of the Songs of Eirren)
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Breo-Saight, the young archer from Hero's Song, has abandoned her lifelong mission to avenge her father's murder. But just as she stops pursuing the murderers, they turn up again, leading Brie to her birthright — a fire arrow.

The magical arrow leads Brie to a strange country, where she finds the family and happiness she's never known. But she also finds evil at work — the doings of a sinister, one-eyed sorcerer named Balor. Though Brie has given up on vengeance, she knows she must follow her mission through to its bitter end if she is to save the people she's grown to love.

Available from
Amazon
IndieBound
Barnes & Noble

Cover to Cover Bookstore
3560 North High Street
Columbus, OH 43214
614-263-1624

Reviews

"A rousing story."
--Booklist (starred review)

"Memorable and well-crafted . . . The reader is left wanting another book . . . Excellent."
--VOYA
(5Q--highest rating)

“Pattou has a formidable imagination; Fire Arrow is replete with fascinating and fantastical images, creatures, and settings. I particularly like the story's integration--and transformation--of Irish myth and folklore.”
--SFSite

“This fantasy, with its Celtic overtones, has echoes of the genre's masters -- Lloyd Alexander, C. S. Lewis, and J. R. R. Tolkien. At the same time, Pattou's energetic imagination has allowed her to create many memorable characters and scenes that are vivid and lively and will appeal to many fantasy readers.”
--School Library Journal

Awards/Honors

1998 Booklist’s Top Ten Fantasy Novel of the Year